Although a broken collarbone has knocked him out of the playoffs, South Delta Sun Devils' quarterback Ben McDonald was honoured for his 2019 regular season by being chosen the AAA Western Conference's Offensive Player of the Year. (Photo by Howard Tsumura property of 2019. All Rights Reserved)
Feature High School Football

As Subway Bowl playoffs approach, B.C. High School Football names its 2019 Triple-A conference all-star teams

LANGLEY — A galaxy of stars brought their talents to the field throughout the 2019 B.C. high school football AAA regular season which wound up Saturday.

On Sunday, the BCSSFA’s coaches huddled within their respective leagues to choose their Western, Eastern and Pacific All-Stars.

Congratulations to all of the honoured players:




MVP — Ben McDonald (quarterback, South Delta)

Quarterback — Lucas Granger (North Vancouver-Carson Graham)

Running back — Daesaun Johnson (Vancouver College)

Running back — Vincenzo Nardulli (Vancouver-Notre Dame)

Receiver — Evan Paterson (South Delta)

Receiver — Ethan Troniak (South Delta)

Receiver – Kevean Pashandi (North Vancouver-Carson Graham)

Receiver – Joe Lucas (Victoria-Mt. Douglas)

Offensive line — Simon Smith (Vancouver College)

Offensive line — Matt Ounsted (Victoria-Mt. Douglas)

Offensive line —Jackson McEwan  (Victoria-Mt. Douglas)

Offensive line — Pavan Kainth (New Westminster)

Offensive line — Josh Hsiung (Vancouver College)


MVP — Jason Soriano (safety, Vancouver College)

Defensive line — Vishaan Narayan (New Westminster) 

Defensive line — Ryan Hsiao (Vancouver College)

Defensive line — Anthony Bolanos (Vancouver-Notre Dame)

Defensive line — Sterling May (Victoria-Belmont)

Linebacker — Matt Hoag (Vancouver College)

Linebacker — Cole Bunting (Victoria-Mt. Douglas)

Linebacker — Bennett Stoilen (South Delta)

Linebacker — Robert Lutman (North Vancouver-Handsworth)

Defensive back — Keijaun Johnson (Vancouver College)

Defensive back — Kai Harris (Victoria-Mt. Douglas)

Defensive back — Taran Birdi (New Westminster)

Defensive back — Riley Berfelo (Victoria-Belmont)

Seaquam Seahawks’ senior running back Christian Carlon-Diaz has earned a spot on the AAA Eastern Conference all-star team at running back. (Photo by Howard Tsumura property of 2019. All Rights Reserved)



MVP — Jalem Catlin (running back, Abbotsford)

Quarterback — Nathan Beauchemin (Kelowna)

Running back — Nick Osho (Burnaby-St. Thomas More)

Running back —Christian Carlon-Diaz (North Delta-Seaquam)

Running back — Noah Anderson (Surrey-Lord Tweedsmuir)

Receiver — Nolan Ulm (Kelowna)

Receiver — Caeleb Schlachter (Kelowna)

Receiver — Brandon Johnson (North Delta-Seaquam)

Receiver — Gabe Nacario (Burnaby-St. Thomas More)

Offensive line — Jas Sanghera (North Delta-Seaquam)

Offensive line — Keon Glickman (Abbotsford)

Offensive line — Evan March (Burnaby-St. Thomas More)

Offensive line — Anthony Bassetto (Coquitlam-Centennial)

Offensive line — Dakota Lepine (Surrey-Lord Tweedsmuir)

STM’s Kaishaun Carter (54) and Gabe Nacario (2) were both named to the AAA Eastern Conference all-star team. (Photo by Howard Tsumura property of 2019. All Rights Reserved)


MVP — Kaishaun Carter (defensive end, Burnaby-St. Thomas More)

Defensive line — Cody McMahon (Mission)

Defensive line — Kyle Dodd (Surrey-Lord Tweedsmuir)

Defensive line — Luca Iallonardo (Burnaby-St. Thomas More)

Defensive line —Luke Pearson (Abbotsford)

Linebacker — Jack Wagner (Burnaby-St. Thomas More)

Linebacker —Tariq Brown (Kelowna)

Linebacker — Haidyn Vermeulen (Abbotsford)

Linebacker — Corbin Grant (North Delta-Seaquam)

Defensive back — Rickey Parsons (Burnaby-St. Thomas More)

Defensive back — Blake Neufeld (Abbotsford)

Defensive back — Terrel Jones (Surrey-Lord Tweedsmuir)

Defensive back — Kyle Huish (PoCo-Terry Fox)



MVP — Jhavoun Blake (running back, Rutland)

Quarterback — Sam La Roue (Surrey-Earl Marriott)

Running back — Salai Raap-Kopiyka (Nanaimo District)

Running back — Nicholas Stansfield (Kelowna-Mt. Boucherie)

Receiver — Jay Armitage (West Vancouver)

Receiver — D.J. Stephens (Chilliwack-Sardis)

Receiver — Isaiah Edwards (Surrey-Earl Marriott)

Receiver/Tight end — Dhag Mora (Abbotsford-W.J. Mouat)

Offensive line — Jason Wang (Surrey-Earl Marriott)

Offensive line — Garrett McCarthy (Rutland)

Offensive line — Marcus Copp (Nanaimo District)

Offensive line — Beaudry Leman (West Vancouver)

Offensive line — Newton Maganga (Abbotsford-W.J. Mouat)


MVP — Bryon Ruvalcaba (Surrey-Earl Marriott)

Defensive line — Erich Mueller (Surrey-Earl Marriott)

Defensive line — Ryan Jackson (Rutland)

Defensive line — Jacob Goodwin (Vancouver-Eric Hamber)

Defensive line — Anthony Jaruchik (Abbotsford-W.J. Mouat)

Linebacker — Kai Brydon (Rutland)

Linebacker — Aidan Saunders (Chilliwack-Sardis)

Linebacker — Andy Ofosuhene (Abbotsford-W.J. Mouat)

Linebacker — Mathis Henderson (Vancouver-Eric Hamber)

Defensive back — Dean Meurrens (Surrey-Earl Marriott) 

Defensive back — Keenan Baker (Abbotsford-W.J. Mouat)

Defensive back — Bradley Koebel (Rutland)

Defensive back — Luke Lee (Vancouver-Eric Hamber)

If you’re reading this story or viewing these photos on any website other than one belonging to a university athletic department, it has been taken without appropriate permission. In these challenging times, true journalism will survive only through your dedicated support and loyalty. and all of its exclusive content has been created to serve B.C.’s high school and university sports community with hard work, integrity and respect. Feel free to drop us a line any time at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *